Status and Things to Do

ESHB 2306 was referred to Senate Ways and Means on 2/17/14.  The hearing is 2/27/14 at 3:30.

Let the committee know you support.  Email works just fine for this communication.

Here is the contact information for the committee:

Andy Hill  andy.hill@leg.wa.gov

Michael Baumgartner  Michael.baumgartner@leg.wa.gov

Jim Honeyford jim.honeyford@leg.wa.gov

Jim Hargrove jim.Hargrove@leg.wa.gov

Karen Keiser Karen.keiser@leg.wa.gov

Kevin Ranker kevin.ranker@leg.wa.gov

Barbara Bailey  Barbara.bailey@leg.wa.gov

Randi Becker  Randi.becker@leg.wa.gov

Andy Billig  andy.billig@leg.wa.gov

John Braun  john.braun@leg.wa.gov

Steve Conway  steve.Conway@leg.wa.gov

Bruce Dammeier  bruce.dammeier@leg.wa.gov

Karen Fraser   Karen.fraser@leg.wa.gov

David Frockt  david.frockt@leg.wa.gov

Bob Hasegawa  bob.hasegawa@leg.wa.gov

Brian Hatfield  brian.hatfield@leg.wa.gov

Mike Hewitt   mike.hewitt@leg.wa.gov

Jeanne Kohl-Welles  Jeanne.kohl-welles@leg.wa.gov

Mike Padden  mike.padden@leg.wa.gov

Linda Evans-Parlette  linda.parlette@leg.wa.gov

Ann Rivers  ann.rivers@leg.wa.gov

Mark Schoesler  mark.schoesler@leg.wa.gov

Rodney Tom  Rodney.tom@leg.wa.gov

Lastly, as always, it is most important to:

1.  If you belong to an organization, please ask them to support.

2. Please contact your legislators.  If you don’t know your district, check here.

Tell them this is important to you and the community.

3. Ask your farmers markets to support.  Draw connections.

4. Please contact your county commissioners and county executive.  They all support farmland preservation.  This is a wonderful way to preserve farmland and keep small farmers working the land.  Ask for their support.  You can tell them this is a sound investment. It keeps farmers on their land, farming the land, producing agricultural products for their communities.  Small farmers are the emerging trend in the local farm economy.  We need to modernize the tax code to reflect this.

5.  Share this webpage http://weneedsmallfarms.wordpress.com/  with your friends.  Forward to farmers you know, grocers, restaurants, local papers.

11 thoughts on “Status and Things to Do

  1. Pingback: Preserving Small Farms Through Tax Policy – Basic Fairness | We Need Small Farms

  2. Pingback: Hearings Set for Small Farms Current Use Bills | VIGA Vashon

  3. Testimony at hearings:

    Thank you for considering these bills. I urge you to approve them. They can make a positive difference for small farmers like us, and for food security in Thurston County and WA State.

    My partner and I both work full time at regular jobs, and our family runs a small organic farm in the Tumwater Urban Growth Area. We raise organic grass-fed beef and pastured poultry. This is labor intensive, with very low net income. We are committed to it because it produces healthy meat, sustainably and humanely. Each acre of our farm yields enough premium quality meat for one local family per year.

    Taxes are our biggest expense, more than feed or fencing. Passage of these bills could really help us. For a small farm on a tight margin, relief of a few hundred dollars can mean well over 10% percent of yearly expenses, and for some it could be the difference between continuing and quitting farming.

    Small farms are the fastest growing segment of agriculture in Thurston County and the State of Washington. It is crucial to sustain our network of local food providers, as we prepare for worsening impacts of climate change.

    Global warming is already disrupting crop production in the nation’s breadbasket – for example, last year’s droughts and heat wave decimated Midwest wheat, corn, and soybeans. We are lucky to have ample water and farmland in Thurston County – so far. Increasing temperatures and longer growing seasons are making it possible to raise new crops around Puget Sound – if farmers can afford to innovate. Thank you for passing these bills to help local farmers stay in business, and to support WA State into the future.

  4. Pingback: Small Farms – Why the Controversy? | We Need Small Farms

  5. I must thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this blog.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own website now ;)

  6. Pingback: Can you spell BI-PARTISAN! | We Need Small Farms

  7. Pingback: Time to talk our talk. January 30, 1:30 House Finance | We Need Small Farms

  8. Pingback: 2 3 0 6 BINGO! | We Need Small Farms

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s